Why run one mile everyday??

12 Feb

About a week ago, I decided I was going to run a mile every day – at least attempt to run everyday. For those elite cross-country runners and marathoners that are reading this, I can hear you scoffing at my measly mile. However, for the non-runners out there like me (I’m more an elliptical girl if I do say so myself), a mile is A LOT. However I guess I am getting a little ahead of myself here – so let’s back track to why I decided to start running.

Almost one year ago today, I was fortunate enough to get engaged to the man of my dreams and unfortunate in the fact that he is a military man. I do love a man in uniform and I do appreciate the U.S. Military in all aspects, however the uncertainty of the military makes planning a wedding a little bit (a lot) more difficult. I knew what I was getting myself into, but I still was hoping for the best. Originally thinking our wedding was to be last summer, I bought my wedding dress and started planning. Well as all things do in the military, plans change and our wedding was postponed until this summer.

Since the postponement of our wedding, things have changed a little; namely my job, my address, and my weight. The first two were stressful at first and things calmed down and I am happy with where I am (although I might be relocating again soon, but that’s a different story for a different blog). Personally, my weight is still an issue. No, I’m not obese and as a matter of fact I am not even considered overweight but I bought my wedding dress 11 months ago when I was several pounds lighter. And by several I mean 20lbs. So now you all can see my dilemma.

I started eating healthy and going back to some old habits that helped me lose weight in the past: P90x and Michael Thurman’s Body Makeover diet, my previous weight control gurus. Apparently, my gurus were not so helpful this time. After two weeks of rigorous exercise and healthy eating, my weight loss plateaued and I was not anywhere near my goal wedding dress weight! Here comes the running. I’m not sure if my body is just too accustomed to my old gurus that they are not as effective now or what the deal is, but for whatever reason they aren’t and I needed something new to help push me over the edge.

I have never been a runner. The fastest mile I have ever ran was in the 7th grade when I ran a mile in 8 minutes and 30 seconds because I was determined to get that all-important Presidential Physical Fitness Award. Since that point in time I have avoided running whenever possible claiming “My knees hurt” or “Running makes me dizzy” or my personal favorite “Running’s not my style”. I’m not sure what possessed me, but my neighborhood has one-mile marked out on it so I took that idea and ran with it, no pun intended. So here goes…

One-mile everyday for hopefully a fitter, slimmer, fit-into-my-wedding-dress me. 4 and half months and counting.

2 Responses to “Why run one mile everyday??”

  1. PDX Running Chick February 12, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Once you get that mile down you will find it won’t be enough. Mark my words.

    • onemilerunner February 12, 2012 at 10:28 am #

      I hope your right! I have always dreamed of running a marathon but never thought I could do it. Hopefully I’m on the right track now.

      Thank you for the words of encouragement!

Leave a Reply

